Josh and Connie

finally getting hitched on August 3, 2008

Gocco madness February 14, 2008

Filed under: Gocco,invitations — lemontangos @ 8:20 am
Tags: ,

My co-worker, Ellen, has heard me gushing about the Print Gocco for days now. The Gocco is a Japanese at-home silk screening machine that can make some of the coolest things I’ve ever seen. Feast your eyes on these examples I found on Flickr:

Gocco invitationGocco thank you

All of this crafty goodness originated with me finding gorgeous invitations at Hello Lucky! and finding out that it would cost about $1900, excluding postage, for about 175 invitations, response cards, and envelopes. Naturally, I vomited, cried, then found an alternative. Enter the Print Gocco, my saving grace from the land of the rising sun.

After calling Pearl Paint and getting laughed at, I realized that the Gocco is no longer in production. Sad, but there was a great Save Gocco campaign and everything.

(BTW–did you see that Kodak is pulling out of the instant photo business? It’s the end of an era! Goodbye telegrams, goodbye kodak moments. The first comment on the NY Times article captures it all: “What will Andre 3000 shake it like now? What, America?” Nicely put, c greene.)

Anyway, my point is that I’ve taken the plunge and purchased my very own Gocco today! I’m hoping that with a little practice, vision, and encouragement from a crafty friend (cough, Ellen, cough), I can make all the stationery for the wedding. Ambitious, yes, but I certainly don’t have $1900 to spend on paper. Gulp.

 

2 Responses to “Gocco madness”

  1. Ellen Says:

    I would like to thank you on behalf of the ENTIRE floor for getting the vomiting out of the way at home. 😉

    Don’t worry, you’ll probably get more encouragement than you actually want.

  2. lemontangos Says:

    Very glad to accommodate to everyone!

    Believe me, I’ll need every ounce of encouragement.


Leave a Reply

