Josh and Connie

finally getting hitched on August 3, 2008

The Filene’s Basement Running of the Brides 2008 February 23, 2008

Alas, another RotB has come and gone and I sadly didn’t participate. 😦

I didn’t even know that they were still doing these. When Filene’s was officially devoured by the big fish, Macy’s, I thought the original “basement” would disappear too. Apparently, I was wrong. Rats! If only I’d know!

OK, so I know that I already have a wedding dress, but I always thought that I’d find my dress at one of these chaotic, hormonal messes. Josh and I shop Black Friday with war paint on every year. I was born to bite, scratch, and maul my way through a bargain shopping extravaganza like this for my perfect $400 wedding dress. I guess I’m still mourning the fact that I never had the chance to go.

Of course, I can’t help but feel a combination of terror, excitment, and jealousy when I see photos like this:

ROTB 1ROTB 2ROTB 3ROTB 4ROTB 5

(photos by Glen Yoder, Boston.com)

I love my dress and I’m absolutely delighted with the experience I had at Kleinfeld’s. It’s every New York bride’s dream, so who am I to complain? Of course, it would have been awesome to pay a tenth of the cost, but really, I swear, I’m not complaining. 😉

My only request dear friends and readers–if you are getting married and plan to attend a future Running of the Brides, please, please pick me to be your team leader! I’ll make the team logo, order the shirts, make the giant cardboard signs, assign the roles (dress guards, dress runners, dress barterers, etc.), bring 110% of my enthusiasm, and my camera.

 

7 Responses to “The Filene’s Basement Running of the Brides 2008”

  1. moonrat Says:

    oh my god. phew. i’m tired just looking at these pictures.

  2. […] Alas, another RotB has come and gone and I sadly didn’t participate. I didn’t even know that they were still doing these. When Filene’s was officially devoured by the big fish, Macy’s, I thought the original “basement” would disappear too. Apparently, I was wrong. Rats! If only I’d know! OK, so I know that I already have a wedding dress, but I always thought that I’d find my dress at one of these chaotic, hormonal messes. Josh and I shop Black Friday with war paint on every year. I was bor Source: The Filene’s Basement Running of the Brides 2008 […]

  3. lemontangos Says:

    Does that mean you won’t be doing RotB when you get married!? Please, I need to be somebody’s team leader!

  4. Stephanie Says:

    Wow – nice action shots.

  5. Amanda Says:

    You can be my team leader! Although we may be in wheelchairs by then. The good news is I think it’ll give us an advantage over those early 20’s bi-a-tches.

  6. lemontangos Says:

    Nooo, we won’t be in wheelchairs! However, we will have superior combat training in order to ram down the competition. Game on!

  7. lino Says:

    SOLOSPOSEFELICI – Wedding running (Milan – Italy)

    Are you ready to do everything for the love of your life?
    Even running with a wedding dress to catch the perfect partner?
    Who’s gonna win the challenge?

    you look this funny video, it is a wedding running in Milan


Leave a Reply

